Changes in Obama Administration re Environment Officials

Ignacia Moreno, currently the Assistant Attorney General for the Environment and Natural Resources Division at the Justice Department, just announced that she is leaving her post by early next month.  ENRD represents EPA, Interior, and other federal agencies on environment and natural resources issues, both enforcement as well as defensive litigation. I understand that it’s not clear yet what Ignacia will be doing  after she leaves, but I am sure that she would be a prime prospect for many position, both in the private as well as the public sector.

In addition, David Hayes, Deputy Secretary for the Department of Interior, is leaving soon to take on a teaching position at Stanford Law School and other work with the Hewlett Foundation. 

Nominations sought for 2014 Katharine & George Alexander Law Prize, deadline June 30

The Katharine & George Alexander Law Prize Committee is seeking nominations for the 2014 recipient of the annual Katharine & George Alexander Law Prize. The Committee also encourages the sharing of this message with friends and other contacts for additional Prize nominations.

As you may be aware, Katharine and George Alexander created the Prize in 2008 to bring recognition to lawyers who have used their legal careers to help alleviate injustice and inequity. Along with the recognition associated with the award, each recipient also receives a generous cash prize.

Nominees for the Prize must be lawyers who have used their abilities in the field of law and shown bravery and commitment to alleviating injustice and inequity. The past recipients of the Prize are Chen Guangcheng, a Chinese civil-rights attorney (2013); Almudena Bernabeu, attorney with The Center for Justice & Accountability (2012); Paul Van Zyl, former executive secretary of South Africa’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission (2011); Shadi Sadr, an Iranian human-rights attorney (2010); Mario Joseph, managing attorney of Haiti’s Bureau des Avocats Internationaux (2009); and Bryan Stevenson, the founder and executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative (2008).

Nominations should be prepared on the form found at  Supporting materials explaining the merits of the nominee for the Prize can also be provided through that form.

The deadline for submission of nominations is June 30, 2013. If you have any questions regarding the nomination process, please contact Noelia McKeever at

Katherine and George Alexander Law Prize Committee
(Kyle Graham, Cynthia Mertens, Don Polden, Margaret Russell, Alan Scheflin, Beth Van Schaack, Tseming Yang)